1000 Beautiful Things: My red-head turns 5!

March 28th, 2008

jackie5

Red

Red’s birth story will forever be enmeshed with the story of Emily. Since I posted about Emily’s big entrance into our lives I think it’s fitting to share the back-story.

My friend Jen and I spent our entire pregnancies together. We actually called one another on the same day to share our news – “You’re pregnant?! Well guess what? I am too!” – And the happiness extended from there. Our due dates were just weeks apart.

Jen and her husband already had a little girl, Casey, the same age as our Louis. We were so excited that they would become siblings at the same time. We signed them up for Big Brother/Big Sister Class at the hospital. Yes. We were going to deliver at the same hospital. Jen and I even went to the same obstetrics practice.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Louis and Casey go to big siblings class!

We had our ultrasounds around 20 weeks – I would be having another boy named Red*; Jen was having another girl named Emily. Life was just about perfect.

A perfect life is great. All the pieces fit. You can move day-in, day-out without much concern. Then real life happens and you realize beauty all around you – a life you never knew existed.  It’s deeper and fuller. That is what we’ve learned from Emily.

This wasn’t automatic. To get to the deeper places of live you have to enter what Jen calls “the dark and twisty” parts. Those parts that exist in our hearts when expectations are shattered and the glaze of perfection cracks.

I went to the hospital a week after Emily was born with contractions and high blood pressure. I was an emotional mess. The doctor on call from our practice came into the room and listened to why I was such a wreck. I cried as I told her about Jen and Emily. She was patient and listened. Then she told me the facts. The hospital was over-crowded. I would have to share a room with another woman in labor. If my blood pressure came down they’d admit me in two days for an induction. Then the women having babies today would be released and I’d have my own room.

I calmed myself down. I breathed slowly. My blood pressure came down. I went home.

Two days later I was admitted and induced. It was the easiest birthing process ever (yes of course I had an epidural, I’m not tough).  Red was welcomed into the world with joy and tears.

Look at that fat sucker!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The “Fat Sucker”

Those were my first words. Red was almost two pounds bigger than Louis weighing in at 8 lbs, 3 ounces. He had rolls! I joked that they were from all of the butter cream Easter eggs I ate over the previous 2 weeks.

Since Jen and I had maternity leave at the same time we would walk 3 miles several times a week wearing our sweet babies. I will always treasure those weeks.

~*~

DSCN0968

One of many buildings

Red was different from our Louis from the very beginning. During my pregnancy he was much more active and kicked me all night long. As a baby he was adventurous. He climbed up the stairs of our house at 7 months old. He climbed out of his crib at 15 months old. Louis never climbed out of his crib – EVER. Red’s scream could shatter glass. He was a true red-head.

He’s an extrovert living with three introverts. (I am a “socialized” introvert, but really prefer being at home reading a book.) All of the parenting tricks that work for Louis have the opposite effect on this kid.

Red and I are early-birds. As a toddler he would wake up at 5 am on Saturdays. I’d bundle him up and head to Starbucks at 5:30 so his dad and Louis could sleep in. I’d groggily sip a latte while he drank a cup of milk.

jackie1.1

Penny Smile

Red is imaginative and creative. He builds elaborate structures from blocks and Legos. He refuses to ride a bike. He won’t and we can’t make him. I am very proud to report that Miss Emily got a two-wheeler with training wheels for her birthday!

Red loves to sing. Every night he sings me my lullaby. I lay down in his bed and he sings Edelweiss to me. The last line he changes to “bless my Mommy for-ever!”  He gives the sweetest little hugs and kisses.

I am in complete shock that my baby is now 5 years old!

Red, you are a beautiful little boy full of surprises and excitement. Our family wouldn’t be complete without your shenanigans.

4/1000

*names of my children are changed

Leave a comment